Dual Element Hot Water Cylinder

Options
Alaroy
Alaroy Registered Users Posts: 2
edited December 2023 in General Solar Power Topics #1
Hi All,
I'm on-line from down in New Zealand. We used 240vAC power here but there's good interest in solar for water heating. Most of the systems use water filled, black painted copper panels and pump water through to the hot water cylinder. It's heavy and risks roof issues if there is a leak.
I've been thinking for a number of years if there's scope for a combination 240v AC / 24V DC hot water cylinder, running two heater element.
The primary element would be the 240v, connected to the house supply and with a thermostat, switching power off when it got too hot. The second would be the 24v element fed directly from solar panels on the roof, and generating permanently.
I'm not an electrician but I am an inventor, normally designing and building some pretty cool airport ground handling gear, however power security worries me. Much of our country's power is hydro, with a bit of thermal (steam) and one coal fired power station, for which we import dirty burning coal from offshore, because some of the political parties here won't let us mine our own. Government's pushing for more EV's and we just don't seem to have the line or generating capacity, so I'd like to do something positive about it.