How to add panels to a system when existing panel no longer made

Options
PondWater
PondWater Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
Hi all.

I'm looking to add some panels to an existing off-grid solar system. As you'll see I'm a novice with this stuff.

• Currently there are 2 REC TwinPeak REC280TP BLK Solar Panel - 280 Watts, in series.
  • 24v rolls battery bank is charged with a Tracer 3210AN series MPPT controller.
  • The Tracer 3210 has a tag that says "Max. PV input power: 390W (12v), 780W(24v).
More details of the system and it's issues are talked about in this previous thread.

The area gets shade, and these panels supposedly work better than others in that regard.
I've heard that it is best to 'match' panels when replacing or installing new panels to the system.
Alas these REC panels are no longer made.

So what are my options? They do make similar REC panels in a higher wattage.
  • I assume I'll have to add panels in increments of 2— adding a parallel strand of 2 in series to the existing 2 in series?
  • Can I add 2 panels of different wattage (REC makes a 360 watt in what I think is the same config: REC360TP2SM72
  • If so, how should they be linked in (as far as series/parallel config of the 2 different types)?
  • OR, should I match wattage (280) from another manufacture? Any tips on what specs/specifics I should be looking for to match to the existing RECs?
  • It looks to me like the MPPT controller cannot take another 560 watts of panel input? It's a bit confusing because other independent current and voltage specs appear to be OK: e.g. Short Circuit Current (ISC) is 9.44A for 1 panel. Double if two parallel strings (?) which is under 20A. MPPT specs 30A, and under 92 V, which is also true with two series panels at 39.2 open. So what am I missing? 
  • If the MPPT is indeed not capable of handling another 2 panels, where do I go (different MPPT or a second one?)
I got some great feedback on my last post. Thanks to all who contribute here. 

Comments