Inverter Problems

Options
Solarsurfer
Solarsurfer Registered Users Posts: 2
Hey Guys & Girls,
I'm pretty new to this solar game, apart from fitting out my VW campervan which works great, so can I ask for some advice.
I have launched into going off-grid in our house, and have installed 1600w of solar panels (so far), a 400ah battery bank (so far) along with two 40amp solar charge controllers.
I have a 12v to 240v inverter/charger (sorry I forgot to say I am UK based, but the theory is the same).
The inverter/charger can be connected to the incoming mains to run the charger when it detects the batteries are low, but as I said I am trying to go 'Off-grid' so it is only connected to the battery bank which is charged via the solar. The solar is working fine at charging the batteries, even though we are suffering from our early year grey skies at present.
If I change over to the inverter from the mains (Grid), the base current draw is between 2.5 & 3 amps, fridge/freezer, heating boiler (gas fired), LED lights (if they're on) and a couple of laptop chargers plus maybe the kitchen radio.
The inverter runs fine, but, if I try to use anything with a reasonable current draw, even if this is a resistive load of only 1200w, the inverter shuts down immediately, then starts up again. This continues until the additional load has been turned off, then the inverter returns to its happy state running the 2/3 amps.
The inverter is rated at 4000w, 9000w surge and is pure sine wave. It has overload protection, battery under voltage protection, battery supply over voltage protection, and more.
The 100ah batteries are LiFepo and connected in parallel, the terminal size is 8mm (5/16"), which roughly equates to a cross sectional area of 32 square mm.