Opinions on Inverters

Hey guys, 

New to this forum.  Thought I'd introduce myself and see if I can garner some opinions...

I have a 19.34kW array in Louisiana that was installed in 2009. 92x Kyocera 210W panels connected to 4x Fronius IG-Plus 5kW inverters (long story with crazy early Louisiana politics).  System has been working great and has recovered it's Capex...Ya!!!  No performance problems at all.  It's starting to see a lot of service degradation over the years, which is normal, so I'm looking to augment the system in light of my utility (Entergy) has begun hammering North Louisiana residents with recovery fees following the hurricanes.

I plan to move my south panels to my west roof and add about another 15-18kW.  Still shopping panels.  What I'm really studying now is inverters.  I thought I made my mind up that I was going with a Sol-Ark 15K, but the price tag has me saying...let's shop a little bit more.  I like the ability to add batteries and a generator.  My house is wired for a 12kW generator, which you can see my setup on YT.  I set this up and made the videos to help some fellow Louisiana friends who were impacted by Hurricane Laura.

So my Q...what are the best options for inverters in the 15K-20K range with battery/generator connectivity that is comparable in price or better to Sol-Ark?  

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    I don't have any recommendations for inverters... But a question about service degradation.

Are you talking about utilty service issues (more brownouts/blackouts recently)?

Or are you saying that your solar power system is harvesting less energy than it has in the past? If this, you might want to check your solar array wiring for any failed electrical connections, failing panels, dirt on panels, or shading from growing trees.