Upgrading to Lithium Batteries

rdg1
rdg1 Registered Users Posts: 26 ✭✭
Hello all....
I an looking at replacing my 8-12V 100aH AGM batteries with lithium.  I have a 48v system.
2800w solar,
Flex-power 3648 system

My question is... What are the experiences folks have had with the 48v 200aH batteries or is there an advantage of 12v/24v in series/parallel?

Thanks for any and all info.

BTW, this is an off-grid application in BCS, (battery stores are not just down the road and round the corner....).

Comments

• Wheelman55
    Wheelman55 Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭✭
    edited September 2022 #2
    I’m not an expert. I’m using the Discover AES 48 volt Lithium batteries and am very happy with them. 

By BCS I assume that you refer to Baja California Sud?  If so you don’t need to worry about sub freezing temps. Just make sure to keep the batteries out of direct sun for the heat part. 

FYI I’m on the Rio Grande near Big Bend National Park. Not quite as hot as you but still pretty hot. 

I’ve got my batteries and electronics in a 10x10 foot insulated shed. I put a small Mitsubishi mini split in the shed which keeps the batteries cool.

I calculated that the efficiency gained by keeping the batts and electronics at 75 F more than makes up for the energy to run the split. The batteries and gear should last longer as well. 

Something to keep in mind when switching from FLA is that you can use a smaller AH battery with Lithium. 

The batteries that I use are 130 AH @ 48 volts, and I would guess that one of these would replace 200 AH of FLA. 

Keep in mind that the Lithium batts charge up faster than FLA and the Lithiums are just as happy at partial charge than at full charge. 

Best of luck with your project. 

Off-Grid in Terlingua, TX
    5,000 watt array - 14 CS 370 watt modules. HZLA horizontal tracker. Schneider: XW6048NA+, Mini PDP, MPPT 80-600, SCP. 390ah LiFeP04 battery bank - 3 Discover AES 42-48-6650 48 volt 130ah LiFePO4 batteries
  • BB.