EPEVER Tracer 6420 and 540W panels

maikel
maikel Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
edited September 2022 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hi,
I'm completely new in solar but it's very interesting and i have an electronic engineering background. Still it's pretty complicated stuff
That's why I would like to ask for some help.
I already bought 2 panels 540W each (JA Solar JAM72S30-540) with;
Voc of 49.6V
Vmp of 41.64
Isc of 13.86A
Imp of 12.97

I also bought an off-grid 2000W inverter
Also I'm planning to buy 2x 100Ah GEL batteries, 12V each, planning to put them in series for 24V

I'm looking to buy an EPEVER Tracer 6420 solar charger that should handle 200V Voc and 60A in total
Now in my thinking when I put 4x 540 panels with an Voc each of 49.6V at 25 degrees, when it's dropping to the coldest of 20 degrees (I live in Bangkok, Thailand) that im dangerously close to that 200V ? However with 3 panels i'll have around 150-170Voc
Why does the manual suggest i only put 2 panels in series? At page 6 for a panel with 96cell (mine supposedly has 144cells) with Voc < 62V at 24V (panels are 24V) they suggest best 1 panel and max 2 panels? I don't understand why. If thats because of a max temperature drop is US or EU below C i do understand and im good to go with 3 panels?

Also the 60 amps mention; is this the charging or input power?

I'm planning 16 panels but it looks like this combination is far from ideal
Also im looking for a solar combiner box which has 15A or 10A automatic fuses, do i need a minimum of 20A per string of is 15A ok?
Edit: Sorry forgot to mention at first i was planning 4 panels in series and for of those (strings?) in parallel, So per string the max Amp is the Isc?
Edit: So with max 3 panels in need 5 strings of 3 panels in series to not get above 200Voc, same isc? (15 panels total)

Sorry so many questions, really hoping someone can help me
Thanks a lot,
Maikel

Comments

• littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭✭✭