Lead calcium acid batteries opinions

Options
bgu1982
bgu1982 Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭
These types of batteries have been recently brought to my attention. Are these batteries to be avoided for solar battery bank use? I'm finding alot of batteries that do not say they are this kind and if I was wondering how bad a decision would be to incorporate them in a battery bank. I have no real experience with them an I may have bought some without knowing it because they were not labeled as such.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    It is difficult to say... You need the specifications from the Mfg... And those seem to tell you everything but cycle/float life, if Deep Cycle/Float Duty/Etc. designs or other "marketing speak" like Marine Deep Cycle battery (Marine is, usually, not a true deep cycle battery).

And modern computer system UPS (uninterruptible power supply) are generally only for short term power (30 minutes max) and a few cycles in a year (just long enough to keep computers up until backup genset starts). Those smaller UPS batteries probably only last around 2 years (even if no cycling/power cuts).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • bgu1982
    Options
    Well I guess I feel victim to marketing. I know there not true deep cycle but I thought they were a combination of both for a compromise to get starting power as well as deep cycling. I thought I does both just not as well as a strictly dedicated battery that does one or the other. A compromise so to speak. But does it not still have some true deep cycling capabilities? Or is it just a junk starting battery that's falsely marketed to fools like me hoping to power there home? 
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    edited July 2022 #4
    Options