General cost of various solar systems

Options
Sohabuilders1
Sohabuilders1 Registered Users Posts: 1
Hello all, I am a builder in the central valley of California. I am regularly needing to size and price (estimate) the cost of solar systems for single family dwellings (Required for new construction in CA.) Do any of you do this kind of estimating? I am looking for a general cost for average housing that would range from 850 sq. ft. to 2500 sq. ft. in, perhaps 300 square foot intervals.
Thoughts....

Thanks, Jeff

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    edited March 2022 #2
    Options
    Welcome to the forum Jeff,

There are no really good "generic answers" to your question. Energy usage by a home is a set of highly personal choices and local weather conditions, etc. And for solar the costs (local cost of panel, wiring, labor, etc.) and the amount of energy that the array can generate--Depends on local weather, seasons, type of system, and any local shading (from standpipes, power lines, nearby buildings/land spacing, etc.).

It has been a few years (and lots of inflation/supply chain disruptions)--A "good price" for installing Grid Tied solar system on a home was (very roughly) around $5 per Watt (i.e, 3,000 Watt system, ~$15,000).

I will give you some rough numbers and calculations to show you the basics.

First, how much energy does a home use? The national average is around 500 to 1,000 kWH per month. A very efficient home (natural gas for heating, hot water, cooking) can be 300 or less kWH per month. An all electric home in Texas with full A/C could be 3,000 kWH per month.. My recent bills are around $0.20 to $0.40 per kWH (PG&E, off peak to summer peak evening usage).