Solar charge profile

mjh73
mjh73 Registered Users Posts: 4

Hi everyone,

I'm a complete and utter newbie to the forum and to the world of PV, I was hoping to ask for some help/advice......

I live in the UK and have just recently had a 100W solar panel fitted to my caravan to keep the leisure battery (sealed Lead-acid, 
Yuasa - L36-100 ) topped up, to provide power when we are not connected to an electrical hook up and to power the caravan motor mover. It is controlled by an Epever MPPT Solar Charge Controller - although not sure of the exact model (I do know that it is an XTRA*****N-XDS2 model with the advanced display, sorry not sure of current rating).

We bought the caravan with battery fitted last year, the battery had been fitted from new in 2017, the bloke we bought it off ALWAYS had his caravan plugged into the mains to keep the battery topped up with the in built multi-stage charger.
Now we have it it is stored 30miles away from our home but has a tracker on it that tells me the position and battery voltage at roughly 6 hour intervals, over the winter I noticed voltages of 14v, 14.4v, 14.9v and yesterday 15v.....As expected ? (see below link)

I managed to visit the van yesterday and saw the battery voltage (measured on internal systems) drop from 13.4v to 12.6v with a small load of LED lights on for 30mins or so. Checked the battery it was cold to the touch, not hot at all.
See the charging profile of the solar charger 
Page 23

Basically what I'd like to know is if everything looks alright or is the battery on its way out as the charge voltage is constantly high.
Should I replace the Lead Profile with a User Profile with lower voltages?
Is this normal to see in winter?

I hope I've included enough detail for you experts to garner a picture of my set-up, is there any additional info you guys need?

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks in advance,

Mark

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin