Running a well pump on solar

Options
Mcsap
Mcsap Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭
Ok, I'm completely confused.  I'm brand new at this and electrical stuff makes my head hurt.  

I'm having a well drilled at deer camp.  It's a 1/2 HP 115 v pump.  I will not need to run it very much, just to fill a 33 gallon holding tank, probably once or twice a week if the smell gets bad and we want to use the shower.

I found for sale, brand new,  3 100W panels and a 100Ah 12 V AGM deep cycle battery.  I will need to purchase the inverter and controller.  

Is that battery enough to start and run the pump?  From what I have read, I will probably need two batteries this size?

Cheaper to just run the generator, but I like the idea of running silent.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Welcome to the forum Mcsap,

The issue is that the loads pretty much drive the design and operation of the power system (solar, genset, etc.).

So, can you tell us a bit more about your pump? Brand/model/type? Well depth, etc.

Could you use a smaller pump--I.e., "slow pumping" to fill the cistern or pressure tank? And use a small 12 volt RV water pump to supply pressure to the camp (sink, shower, etc.).

A 1/2 horse 120 VAC well pump does not sound like a lot of power--But for solar it is a pretty big load--Both starting (roughly 5x running watts for starting Watts/VA). And then how long to run (per day) to fill the tank.

For starting surge, you need to size the battery bank and AC inverter to supply the surge. And the solar panels+battery bank to supply your daily loads (rough location of camp, nearest major city, hours of sun per day, is this a non-winter camp, or do you want to run in winter, etc.)...

For example, here is a small in-well pump (in well pumps are not cheap)--But uses a (relatively) small amount of DC power to pump water (the one below, around 30-150 Watts--Depending on depth and operating voltage).