Input on System Quote - Iowa

kman21
kman21 Registered Users Posts: 5 ✭✭

I have been interested in solar for a while, and recently noticed that Iowa started "net-metering," so I figured I would start the process of getting quotes. I am new to this, so I apologize about the lack of info, let me know if you need more info.

Current energy use averages about 1.1 MWh per month. Wife and I are planning on getting an electric vehicle at some point in the near future. I'm seeing 35 kw per day average on my bill. Math from there is 1.458 kw/h. 1.458x1.25 for some cushion. 1822 watts/hr needed per day. 4.4 hours peak sunlight/day in my area means I need an 8kw system to cover my average daily use, correct?

I was told the below system could offset 100% of our power use when averaged over a year. Some months we would generate more than we use, some less. With the net metering, we would use the surplus we generated from low months to cover the high months, and end up even at the end.

Purelight Power is the company I reached out to. They quoted the following:

31 panels

AP Systems inverter type.

1116 kWh/mo production (quote just shows "system size" and 11.160, so I think this is right.)

$42900 all in prior to federal tax credit. Roughly $31700 after the credit.

Unfortunately, we do not have any local incentives in place for solar.

He has not shared the exact diagram or info on the system, which is making me question the quote, because he is withholding information, making me not trust it.

We do have an excellent roof set up for solar. South facing roof with zero tree cover, so I would like to get a system, but I want to verify the quote here.

He quoted a 25 year guarantee to generate the power they said it would, a 20 year panel warranty, and a 10 year workmanship warranty, all of which ease my concerns about someone drilling holes in my roof.