Complete Newbie-Looking For Help

mf12345
mf12345 Registered Users Posts: 1
edited July 2021 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
I am a complete newbie to solar. Been dealing with power outages lately and tired of storing gas and lugging out generator. 
Is there a solar kit I can buy that would have everything needed to run a fridge or chest freezer during power outage? Thanks. 

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    edited July 2021 #2
    Welcome to the forum MF12345,

You will find lots of people that will sell you kits... And some of them may actually work fine at a decent cost.

However you need to better quantify your loads/energy needs and at least do some paper system designs to figure out your basic hardware needs. Then looking for solutions (and there are companies that will build custom "kit" solutions too).

First statement--Off grid solar is "not cheap". And using off grid solar as a "backup system" is even "more not cheap". Running a refrigerator or freezer from solar--That pushes from a small to a mid size solar system (which is not cheap either).

I will "do the math" here for a system design based on lots of guess work here... My SWAGs are you are around Allentown PA, and you are losing power from Ice Storms? So you may lose power a few days to a week at a time? And, at the very least, run your standard home fridge OR freezer from solar with a few LED lights and cell phone charging (no water pump, heater/central heat/etc.).

An very good energy star rated refrigerator/freezer may run around 500 kWH per year +/- (energy star hang tag):
    • 500,000 WH per year / 365 days per year = 1,370 WH per day fridge
    So lets call your load a refrigerator (~120 Watts running, 500+ Watts defrosting) and a few LED lights/cell phone chargers or 1,500 WH per day.