Wire AWG for Movable extra panel

RebTech
RebTech Registered Users Posts: 3
edited June 2021 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hi all I'm a noob when it comes to solar, i'm trying to wrap my head around what I need to make one solar panel as a backup. On some sites they say as long as you match the wire on the panel others give you a calculator and I'm looking at welding wire?
I'm so Confused? 
I just want to have this 150W panel for chasing the sun when i'm parked under the trees when my RV panel isn't getting the sun it needs. I prefer to chase the sun than run a generator.

This is the panel I bought
150W
VMP 17.1V
Imp 8.7A
Voc 21.5V
isc 9.2A
Max system V 1000V

Here's my existing setup;
280w mono panel on the roof of my RV that is connected my MPPT epever Tracer2215BN
2- 6V 230Ah batteries wired for 12V
2000W pure sine wave Inverter

My Trailer has a Zamp SAE plug at the rear and I've wired it in to the controller to make it an easy to hook up for the 150W panel.

My question is what size of wire can I get away with for about 50 feet of total distance away and I plan to put a connector half way so that sometimes I won't need the whole 50 feet

2nd question?
Does it matter that the wire awg at the panel and zamp plug in the RV wall are lower awg?

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum RebTech,

My first question--Are you planning on running the two solar panels (280 Watt and 150 Watt) in parallel to the single MPPT solar charge controller?

Or are you planning on getting (for example) a simple/less expensive PWM charge controller to run the 150 Watt panel?

I am guessing that the 280 Watt panel has Vmp~30-36 volts (typical) vs the 17.1 volt Vmp 150 Watt panel... The two panels will not work in parallel to a single controller. And the 150 Watt panel is a bit on the low voltage side for Vmp (you really want 17.5 volts or higher--Especially when you take into account the long cable's voltage drop).