Solar Power to drive 2KW Motor

Options
Ciaran
Ciaran Registered Users Posts: 3
Hi Guys,
I have a farm leased with no power on it and I was hoping to install a horse walker this Spring/Summer. The horse walker has a 2KW motor which will be running for about an hour or so every day(1-2hrs). Does this mean I need a 2KW system, will that work? 
I am new to solars and would really appreciate some help. I don't need all the calculations just yet but would like some assurance that this motor can run off solar panels. 

Thank you, Ciarán
Tagged:

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    edited March 2021 #2
    Options
    Welcome to the forum Ciarán.

I will go through a very quick set of steps and calculations... Nothing is written in stone--Just points for starting the discussion.

First, you need to measure the actual energy usage of the motor. It is doubtful that the motor will be taking 2,000 Watts during that entire time--Perhaps 1/2 that. But, for the sake of argument, I will assume that. Using a genset and a power meter (or measuring at a friend's place):

https://www.amazon.co.uk/s?k=kill+a+watt+meter&ref=nb_sb_noss

One question (among many)--Do you need 230 VAC power elsewhere on the farm? Lights, laptop computer, cell phone charging, etc... Solar Power is not cheap--And building a system that will support other loads from one central system is generally less expensive.

While it is possible to make a system that runs directly from solar panels--The drawback is that the system only works when the sun is up and shining.. A battery system will let you use day/night/cloudy weather--But it is more expensive, and batteries typically last 3-5 years (for simple deep cycle golf cart batteries).

Battery sizing--2 days of operation (no sun), and 50% maximum planned discharge for longer battery life). Battery bank voltage typically 12/24/48 volts. For this system, 48 volt probably better: