Dissertation about the 'Sharing' of Energy

UlasY
UlasY Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello everyone,

I am an undergraduate student at Newcastle University London and I am currently writing my dissertation about the peer-to-peer trading of energy (the concept of the sharing economy, e.g. Uber or Airbnb). I am exploring how willing energy producers are to sell/'share' their excess energy via digital platforms and what their motivations would be for that. It would be a great help and appreciated if you fill out my questionnaire which does not take longer than five minutes.

This is the link to it: https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/DYB39P8

Thank you for your time! 

Comments

• clockmanfran
    clockmanfran Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭✭
    I am English and living in Normandy France.

We here have a small community of buildings that we supply our own power, we generate about 15Kw of renewable energy.

I looked at your survey, its pretty skimpy, but not sure what you are actually asking.

In France by Law I am not allowed to sell any excess energy except to EDF the French Government owned main Utility supplier.

For a domestic property you can only sell a maximum of 3Kw back to EDF. 

The official paper work and visits by officials and the upgrading of their services to accept more than 3kW becomes deliberately prohibitively expensive for normal folk like us.

In theory what you are attempting is possible, however in the present climate and the present business models the actual reality within Europe means its a non starter at a practical level.

Everything is possible, just give me Time.

The OzInverter man. Normandy France.

3off Hugh P's 3.7m dia wind turbines, (12 years running).  ... 5kW PV on 3 Trackers, (8 years) .... 14kW PV AC coupled using Used/second hand GTI's, on my OzInverter created Grid, and back charging with the AC Coupling and OzInverter to my 48v 1300ah batteries. 

• Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭