72v motorcycle charger?

garynappi
garynappi Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭
I've been riding for over 50 years, and now I'm looking at electric crotch rocket type bikes. All operate at 72 volts so naturally I'm looking at a solar charge station for my bike. 

But... I'm way out of my league when it comes to panel and CC selection. 

The mainstream makers are not forthcoming on battery specs, but smaller shops are more open about the batteries. 

One gives these details...
  • Battery: 72v 60ah Lithium
  • Charger: 72V 10A
  • Charging Time: 6-8 hours
That said, looking at various panels and controllers and the specs are not encouraging. Every CC seems to max out at 48 volts, and the specs on the panels needed for the CC are less than clear to me. 

The only CC I found to date that "may" work is the MIDNITE CLASSIC CP250 but while it claims to support 72 volt systems, it only has listing a VOC / VMP for 48 volt systems. Are there any CC's that specify 72volt support for a 72v lithium battery?

So, if I get an electric motorcycle I'll assume that most any series pair of 300+/- watt panels with a VMP or VOC of over 70-80 volts will work assuming I can find a suitable MPPT CC.

TIA for any advice, especially from any who are charging electric motorcycles.

Comments

• sawmill
    sawmill Solar Expert Posts: 93 ✭✭✭
    I assume the electric motorcycle would have an on board AC charger.  If the solar system is to only be used for the MC charging, would not PV panels with their own micro-inverters be a possible solution?
  • Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭