1600 watt solar system

Skip3
Skip3 Registered Users Posts: 13 ✭✭
My wife and I are on selling everything and becoming full-time rvers. I plan to install 8-200 watt high-tech panels in 2 strings for 800 watts each, use a connector box, 2-100 amp renogy charge controllers in parallel, into a 1000ah battery bank with a Aims 12 volt 120/240v split phase inverter. As this forum category suggests I am a newbie so I hope the following questions are not too stupid and that some will respond with the vast knowledge that I have found here.

The panels are Voc 24.355V, Isc 9.87A.  I would be connecting them in parallel so I am assuming each string will have 24V +/- and 39.5A +/-.  Will the 10 awg wire be sufficient connecting the panels together or should the wire gauge get larger as the amperage increases from panel to panel? 

Should I use a connector box to connect two strings to one cable, or connect each panel or pair of panels to a larger connector box?  Instead should I run 4 panels output separately to each controller?  I know that two 100 amp controllers are overkill but I may want to increase the system at some future date.

I also plan to connect the 2 phase inverter to each side of the 50 amp panel. I know that I will have to run the fridge on propane and flip the breaker off to the roof a/c. My wife cannot tolerate heat due to health   I hope to install a mine split a/c or a 5000 btu window unit both of which will pull around 450 watts.  

Does this make sense or I'm way off base?  Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Well except those that might suggest that I really am hopeless.😀

Comments

• Solfyr
    Solfyr Registered Users Posts: 22 ✭✭
    Volts add in series : 24  Vopencircuit x 4 ~ 96Voc per string .

Those charge controllers are available in 100V and 150V , some in 250V .

With 100 V CC you are limited to 2 panels in series and 4 strings in parallel .