SolarEdge 10k HD Wave - Grid Tie - want to set up emergency solar backup option in case of outage

dcbour
dcbour Registered Users Posts: 2
To start with, I'll begin to say I'm new to all of this.  Just put solar in this past December and didn't realize at the time that when power goes out, the inverter shuts down.

Looking to set up some type of backup should power go out - House typically runs between 2 - 3kw at any given time, if electric vehicles plugged in either another 3.4kW or 7.7k depending on which vehicle plugged in.  I can control via web interface the power available to the vehicle charger.  Given the house has a single 240 8gauge that runs from one side of the house (panel) to other side (garage where space to mount inverter, batteries, etc) in finished basement, wondered about something like Aims 24v 4kW pure sine inverter, a minimal set of batteries to run inverter to handle 6kW (for startup surge of ac, etc) at 24v, switch from input on inverter to output should power go out so can run over same wire across the house, a simple 120v charger to keep batteries running since can't have input on same line as output on inverter according to the Aims user guide.

When power goes out, manually shut down house utility breaker, switch the inverter switch from input to output and have it backfeed the house, the solar should come back up in 15m providing adequate power on most days to run most of the house, as well as 2/3 the time, able to support charging the vehicles too.  

I know there are issues with back feeding - thinking maybe get a manual transfer switch instead - will manually throw that when power fails.  Most of the transfer switches want to set up subpanels - trying to find option to take whole house but haven't found any at 200amp input - the house power input.