Simple solar light setup

sunshinelover
sunshinelover Registered Users Posts: 3

Hi all,

I'm just starting out with solar. My first project is a stand alone light system for the kitchen.

My goal: To have a stand alone strip light run by solar & battery. I really want this. We have lots of storms where I live and there's always the threat of electricity going off for awhile. Also, I love the idea of being more independent. Here's what I have:

Renogy 30 watt mono solar panel, 12v 20 amp solar charge controller, 35ah 12 volt battery, 1.5 foot strip light (7.7 watts/foot, 12v).

I want this to be my main lighting in my kitchen. If it works out well, I won't even use the regular ceiling light anymore. I know the 30 watt panel probably won't charge the battery very fast, but it will live in the upper part of the kitchen window (inside the home) and it's the biggest wattage panel I could find that would fit.

My questions:

a) I want an on/off switch and have no idea where it should be wired in. If somebody could link to the correct switch on amazon I'd really appreciate it, plus tell me where to wire it in. Would the off/on switch be enough, in case of arcs or smoke, etc? I've been reading this forum and the smoke & arcs came up, which concerns me. The solar panel is connected to the charge controller with mc4's, which are difficult to disconnect, especially in a hurry.

b) Where would the fuses go? What amps, etc, do they need to be? Again, amazon link would be great.

c) The battery is a Mighty Max sealed lead acid battery. If it lives on top of the fridge inside my home, is there a danger of dangerous gas, etc.?

d) If I were to purchase a larger wattage solar panel, it wouldn't fit the window without the middle part of the window frame covering part of the panel. In your opinion, would that still charge the battery faster than just using the 30 watt one?