Need Advice on small Grid Tie setup

wilsonbh
wilsonbh Solar Expert Posts: 57 ✭✭✭

I'm finally going to pursue setting up a small grid tie system.  I can only accommodate about 10 panels so I was thinking of 320w panels for a 3.2kW system.  I'm confused however about using micro inverters versus a single inverter.  Is there any reading here I can learn from?  Anyone have any advice on how to proceed? 

Billy

Comments

• wilsonbh

Wow! This is a GREAT site.  I've learned a lot here.  With the price of solar going down, I'm anxious to install my own system.  I wish there were some detailed plans somewhere that I could follow.  Anyone know of any?

Billy

Merritt Island, FL

• wilsonbh
    BTW, I'm listed as a "SOLAR EXPERT" but I'm no expert.  Would best label me as "SLOW LEARNER" versus expert.  I've been coming here for a long time.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Are you going to install this yourself, or with an installer?

What about building department rules? While a single/central GT inverter has advantages (one thing to repair/replace on the side of wall, installed out of direct sun/rain, etc.)... There are new(er) solar installation codes which are making distributed micro-inverters easier to install code wise.

Basically, with solar panels, they are "current sources" that normal circuit breakers will not trip if there is a short circuit. And DC sustains arcs better than AC (if you have a wire break). With central GT inverter, you have a bunch of DC wiring that is more susceptible to short/open circuit fires/arcing. If you install micro inverters with 1 per solar panel, you are converting from AC to DC on a per panel basis--And runing 240 VAC on the roof to your main panel. This can be a "safer system". Central GT inverters have code requirements which can be a pain (depending on your building code agency).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zez2r1RPpWY