Ground wiring configuration for solar panels

rdgoods
rdgoods Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
Forgive me if you've addressed this previously. I'm confused how to properly configure the ground wire between panels. I do understand that a bare copper (#6 min.) be routed down to a single common earth ground, per your direction. What I need a better understanding of is; do I connect the bare wire to each panel using the pinch connectors by screwing these to each panel frame, effectively "daisy-chaining" the panels together with the ground wire down to the common earth ground ? Also, between the last grounded panel and the earthen ground rod, can I enclose the bare wire inside a ~1/4" PVC sleeve to protect the wire without interference of ground conductance ? I'd like to conceal this along the exterior of the house as well. I'm really new to this, so thanks for endulging my ignorance !
Tagged:

Comments

• rdgoods
    More about grounding:
    It occurs to me having done more research, I may have asked the above question prematurely. It's my "understanding" the proper way to do this (hopefully to code) is: attach lugs to each array panel frame, route common ground wire between all panels via lugs, down through conduit (same conduit as solar conductors ?) to common ground buss. Run ground wires from all system equipment (combiner box, charge controller, inverter, etc.) to same ground buss, then one ground home run to existing common earth ground. This is as much a question as a statement I admit, but am hoping I have a better understanding. 
    Other Questions:
    Do I also need to run a ground from my battery array to buss bar ?
    Do I need to run solar panel ground through racking as well, despite metallic connectors ?
    thanks very much for your help !

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin