Recommend a starter kit for me please.

Skno1
Skno1 Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello everyone. I'm new to learning about solar panel kits and I was wondering if someone could recommend a kit I could use to power a heated dog pad which I want to install on a dog house. This is all I want the panel to power. Could someone tell me everything that I will need to accomplish this? Do I need a battery or can I do this just with the panel kit? Any information would be helpful thank you.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,590 admin
    Before looking at kits--I highly suggest understanding your loads. Once you know your loads, you can size a system to support those loads. And then finally, compare kits (and piece part purchasing) to see what works best for you.

And looking at your loads--Conservation/alternative designs are highly suggested. Very roughly, off grid solar power (electric panels+electronics+batteries+maintenance) mean that costs over a 20 year service life can be on the order of $1 to $2+ per kWH--Or around 10x the cost of utility power...

Focusing on your design--Does this dog house+pad already exist? Can you plug in an extension cord and a Kill-a-Watt type meter and measure its energy usage?

If the system does not yet exist--Then alternative heating methods may make more sense. Using solar thermal panels + insulated tank + small water pump (or two) would probably be less expensive and a better do it yourself type project. This is a large home, but pretty much everything was DYI and worked well even in a cold climate:

Solar Shed and other Solar Thermal Links

Assuming the shed is well insulated (including the concrete pad)--Perhaps you can use solar electric panels to heat the pad (a few hours a day) and use the thermal mass to carry through for the next day or so (ride through bad weather).