charge controller turbine off grid

pkerridge493
pkerridge493 Registered Users Posts: 1
hi people been wanting to buld a wind system for a while and now have a bit more money to do so at the moment i have a pma 600watt motor which i will be using for a turbine i may add to this its a 12v system i havent got the batteries yet but im getting and goin through what i need one by one i have recently bought a powerjack 5000watt inverter 10000w peak first of i would like to know what would sort of charge controller i need prefferably one that diverts a 12vdump load and rectifier links would be great to a certain online auction please dont get to technical i have basic knowledge with electrics for which someone else will be wiring it up lol thanks

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum PK,

Just to let you know, I am not a fan of wind power systems--The equipment tends to need a lot of maintenance, few people live in high wind areas with consistent winds over the year, and you spend more on the tower/concrete/lift trucks than the turbine itself. My suggestion is to design an off grid solar power system, then add wind when/if it makes sense.

But, to answer your specific questions. PMA motors tend not to be very reliable (weather/water/loading of hub+blades) or a good match (torque/RPM) to a non-geared set of blades.

I suggest not buying any (or any more) equipment until you have gone through a paper design cycle. It can be pretty difficult to match the random parts into a reliable design that will meet your needs.

For example, a 5 kWatt / 10 kWatt surge 12 volt AC inverter... The amount of peak current would be:
    • 10,000 watts peak * 1/0.85 AC inverter eff * 1/10.5 battery cutoff voltage = 1,120 Amps (at 12 volts)
    It is very difficult to get >1,000 amps of current flow a few feet of copper cable with less than 0.5 volts of drop