Outback 1600RE absorb and float settings

offgridmojo
offgridmojo Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
About a week ago we received and installed our Outback 1600RE battery. 

I contacted Outback Power and tech support gave me the following voltages:

55.9v Absorb
54v Float

And she specifically mentioned that if we are using Outback controllers:

56.4 Absorb
54.4 Float

She didn't mention how long to charge, but I read in the EnerSys (battery manufacturer) manual that they recommended 3 hours of absorb.

So far we've been reaching absorb at around noon each day, and just want to make sure that I am not under charging or overcharging the battery.

Do these settings sound correct? I have a fear of wrecking this spendy battery!

I am very new to this sector, having just a couple of years under my belt with 1 VFX3648 and a few panels, and about a year running 4 VFXs and these newer panels.

~Moses

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭

Hi Moses,

Since this question is posted in the off-grid Topic area,  assume that this IS a large off grid system.

The Absorb voltage seems low,  BUT,  we always suggest contacting the manufacturer of the battery for guidance on Absorb and Float voltages,  and any EQ guidelines for batteries.   Outback Power is the supplier,  and should know exactly what these batteries need for Vabs,  and Vflt.

As you know,  the Absorb time,  depends upon the Depth Of Discharge (DOD)  that the battery experienced in the previous discharge cycle.

On many systems,  Finishing current (EA for us)  is a good method of ending Absorb,  if one has a reliable way of measuring battery charge current,  and a way to command the CCs to switch to Float.   The OB FNDC may well be able to do this job,  now.  In the past,  there were quite a few customers that were disappointed with the ability of the FNDC to do this job at all well ...  hope that this has been fixed.