New off grid design for Hawaii

KalJus
KalJus Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
New to the community, and solar as well. Have experience with DC circuits, understand basics like difference between energy and power, Ohm's Law, etc. One area I am a complete beginner in is batteries. Been reading everything I can find and now want to stick my neck out and have some conversations with experienced people. Looking forward to being an active member here.

My family of four are building a new home that is over a mile from public services. This is on the east side of the Big Island of Hawaii. Deciding to go off grid solar is both practicality (even if we paid a fortune to receive service, rates are over $0.30/kWh and tied to fuel imports) as well as personal values and beliefs.

My goal was to get us to be 100% solar, without propane, for a budget of $30,000. Labor would just be me and maybe some friends help with things like installing the ground mounted array. We currently live close to the building site and our energy use is about 12kWh a day. This includes everything (standard HW heater, catchment pump, electric clothes dryer and washer, lights, gadgets, fans, etc) and the only thing it doesn't include is an electric range. I have estimated this will add about 1.5kWh/day (may seem low but we eat a very raw diet)). In addition I will have some needs for a workshop and have estimated that at about 5-6kWh/day. So I am shooting for 20kWh of energy, and would rather overshoot.