12v Float and bulk charging setting, what should they be?

Options
YostFMX
YostFMX Solar Expert Posts: 94 ✭✭✭
I have a Xantrex C60 charge controller, 615 watts of panels, running 12v system with 4 golf cart batteries. The charge controller has a float and bulk knob. Ive read the manual and its hard to understand where its supposed to be set for 77F degrees temperature. Ive just left it where it is at 13.5v float and 14.0v bulk. Is that correct? Ive been running it like that for about 3-4 years. Then in the book it has a chart to adjust + or - for temperature and at 77F it shows 00.0 change, but i need to find out what 77F should be set to! Please help.

The book almost seems to say it should be float 13.5v and bulk 14.8v. Bad instruction manual...

Comments

• 706jim
    706jim Solar Expert Posts: 514 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    I ran the same default settings on a C40 for many years. (24 volt system with bulk at 28.0 and float at 27.0) Now with Trojan manual recommendations, I run bulk 28.4 and float 26.4. Your settings should be half of mine for a 12 volt system. Original batteries were GC's while new ones are L16's. I suppose, time will tell if the changes were warranted.
    Island cottage solar system with 2500 watts of panels, 1kw facing southeast 1.3kw facing southwest 170watt ancient Arco's facing south. All panels in parallel for a 24 volt system. Trace DR1524 MSW inverter, Outback Flexmax 80 MPPT charge controller 8 Trojan L16's. Insignia 11.5 cubic foot electric fridge. My 30th year.
  • YostFMX
    Options
    Ive had my batteries about 2 years, found the water was down on them to where you could see the fins, not sure they are going to last, fridge starting at night trips the low voltage breaker at about 2am :-( . Did i ruin them letting the water get too low? Any ways to make these batteries work good again?
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options