installing a 150 MFD start capacitor for chest freezer

Hi, looking for some advice how/where to install a 150 MFD start cap for a freezer that is having trouble starting with a 1400i xantrex PS 12vdc inverter - waynefromnscanada if your out there please help as I saw an earlier post that does explain it but im no expert on freezers.
100kWp GT / 4 x 25kW SMA STP25000, 25kWp, 5kWp, 6.76Kwp all GT - making the local electric company quake in their boots...

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    What is the brand/model number of freezer? There are a lot of different configurations out there.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • chrisvibeelectriccom
    chrisvibeelectriccom Registered Users Posts: 2

Hi Bill, Thanks its a cheapo Premium PFR96W-220v, the compressor is Huaguang ASD65 220v-240 50hz single phase (im in St Lucia in the Caribbean so we have 240v/50hz standard supply voltage). seems to have no cap and I have had the compressor starting on occasion but most it just goes into low voltage alarm, sometimes it goes into overload alarm also. the supco items look to be the solution but not exactly sure how to wire correctly thru the relay or the best value for the cap?? rgs Chris

100kWp GT / 4 x 25kW SMA STP25000, 25kWp, 5kWp, 6.76Kwp all GT - making the local electric company quake in their boots...
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Best I could do was find a simple electrical diagram:

Service Manual - Premium Appliances

Many refrigerators and freezers use an "integrated" start relay+capacitor and it may not be easy to change the capacitor for a different value.

In general, refrigerator/freezers are not really designed to operate on a limited power output off grid power system. They are design assuming you have utility power that can supply very high starting current.