Solar Battery Tenders?

Options
serius
serius Registered Users Posts: 11
edited October 2015 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hello, im new to Solar
I have an RV deep cycle battery that the gas leak detector is constantly drawing power, my one little solar tender cant keep up. I have another so can i just hook both solar tenders to it without battery damage?

Comments

• serius
    Options
    Can nobody answer this? Is this a solar forum or what?
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Sorry--Sometimes we miss a question.

Anyway, do you know how much current @ 12 volts your leak detector takes? This one here take 75 mAmp (0.075 amps).

http://www.campingworld.com/shopping/item/classic-lp-gas-alarm-flush-mount-tan/56358

Your solar battery tender--We need more information. In general, 1% or less rate of charge (100 AH battery bank, 1 amp rate of charge or less), you do not have to have a battery charge controller.

When you get over that, you should have a battery charge controller to prevent overcharging the battery bank.

A typical solar tender may be ~6 Watts. If you mount it behind the windshield of a car/RV, you probably get 1/2 that...

For a 75 mAmp load and a solar charge controller, assuming ~2 hours of sun minimum (more towards winter, behind window--Guessing):
    • 0.075 amps * 24 hours per day * 1/0.52 typical system eff * 1/2 hours of sun = ~1.7 Watt solar panel "break even" in winter/poor sun/behind window (guessing)
    So--How much current does your LP leak detector take (do you want to turn it off when in storage?)?. How big is your battery bank (XYZ Amp*Hours @ 12 volts)? How many Watts is your solar tender? Does it have a charge controller?

As Lead Acid batteries age, they self discharge faster. If you have older batteries, they can discharge upwards of 1% (new batteries may be 0.1% or less).