Cashflow proposal by solar company - which panel option should I choose?

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the solar world and this forum. I live in Baltimore, MD and am working with a local solar company to purchase and install solar panels on my roof.  The link below is the cashflow proposal they've provided, with three different options. This proposal was put together without an on-site survey, just via a satellite map.

Background
12 panels
6099 kW consumption/year
No inverter type or brand was specified, so I will have to assume it will be a string inverter

Panels and Cost
Trina 260, 3.12 kW - $9,048
Suniva 275, 3.30 kW - $11,550
SunPower 327, 3.92 kW - $15,304

Proposal link: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1238982/Cashflow%20Proposal%20ed.pdf

I'm open to thoughts:
  • on this proposal in general
  • panel quality
  • costs
  • ROI
At face value, Trina appears to have the best rate of return. However, I know Trina is a Chinese panel and don't know if quality or long-term effectiveness (and warranty) will be an issue.

Thanks!
Tagged:

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    What is the cost of electric power from your utility? What is their Net Metering rate plan?

In major cities, presently the 1 year net metering plans with low monthly minimum fees can make solar pretty cost effective.

However, in rural areas and new with some major utilities they are reducing the amount of solar subsidies (raising minimum monthly billing from $4 per month to $10 per month and some places $48 to even a possible $96 per month). Also, instead of "crediting" you retail power rates ($0.12 to $0.30+ per kWH) to wholesale power rates ($0.06 or less for actual generated power costs). It all depends. This is a highly political issue and things are changing.