Hybrid solar system installed

Masterjoe
Masterjoe Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭
Hello everyone,

I am new to solar electricity. I recently had a Hybrid system installed which consists of 18 250w panels and 12 24v 390ah batteries with a Xantrex 4024 inverter/charger and an MPPT XW 80/600 charge controller with an SCP. The individual who installed my system knew nothing about programming the system nor do I. I have no idea if it is functioning the way it should. It went online 1 Aug 2015 and so far has only produced 16KWh. When the system goes through the charge cycle the Battery level drops to almost 60% then charges back up. Once fully charged it switches to sell (A) for a brief couple seconds then switches back to charging batteries (Kw), and this cycle continues over and over. I noticed today that when it is doing this it is going from float to bulk stage for a couple of seconds then back to absorption stage. Our electrical usage which I can view online has not changed any since we went online. I want to make sure that the solar array is charging the batteries and the loads of the house and not the grid since we have grid support and sell enabled. I do not have a second meter installed by my electric company yet. If anyone can help me out it would be greatly appreciated. If you need any further info please let me know. Questions that I have are.

If the Grid goes down will I still have power and for how long? I know there is a built in safety feature that disconnects the inverter from the grid. I am told by the guy who installed the system I will still continue to produce power from the solar array that charges the batteries when the grid goes down.

Is the system AC coupled or DC coupled? I think I read that hybrid systems are AC coupled

When if ever do the batteries need to be equalized?

How can I be sure the system is running and producing properly and efficiently?

The batteries are charging at night why would this be?