How can I run a RV fan off of a solar panel?

jmcowd
jmcowd Registered Users Posts: 8
I would like to run a 12 v fan (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002N1J5IM?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00) off of a solar panel. I am not good at this, but want to learn. Have posted some other questions and you all have been very helpful and thorough in your explanations. This is for our RV travel trailer. There are no wires at this location and I don't want to install any nor damage seals, etc. I would just like to wire this up (if possible) directly to a solar panel. I have researched the fan as much as I can, but the only thing I can find out is that it will draw ~3 amps. Thank you. Julie

Comments

• lkruper
    lkruper Solar Expert Posts: 115 ✭✭
    jmcowd wrote: »
    I would like to run a 12 v fan (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002N1J5IM?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00) off of a solar panel. I am not good at this, but want to learn. Have posted some other questions and you all have been very helpful and thorough in your explanations. This is for our RV travel trailer. There are no wires at this location and I don't want to install any nor damage seals, etc. I would just like to wire this up (if possible) directly to a solar panel. I have researched the fan as much as I can, but the only thing I can find out is that it will draw ~3 amps. Thank you. Julie

Some fans can run directly from solar but not all. Would it be a show stopper to add a small charge controller and small battery also?
  • jmcowd
    Maybe not. Everything would be outside on the roof. So then I would need a way to waterproof everything in a box. What do you have in mind? Thank you
  • lkruper
    lkruper Solar Expert Posts: 115 ✭✭
    jmcowd wrote: »
    Maybe not. Everything would be outside on the roof. So then I would need a way to waterproof everything in a box. What do you have in mind? Thank you