new to solar,help with design

i am just getting started with solar and want to set up a system.we average about 59 kwh a day. i am unsure about a grid tie or battery. what i have read it is easier to grid tie and not have to mess with batterys. is this true. how many panels do i need? and what size? i live in texas so sun is not a prolbem. like i said i am new to solar and just trying to learn. please help

Comments

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Re: new to solar,help with design

59kWhr/day? ... well a gridtie system would be about 12kW of solar panels or about 100K installed .. add another 20K for batterys if you want to have backup abilities for that type of load

Conservation is your first thing to look at and replacing energy hogs like older AC units ...
  • Mangas
    Mangas Solar Expert Posts: 547 ✭✭✭✭

Agree.

Design system after optimal appliance and HVAC efficiencies are in place/replaced.
    Ranch Off Grid System & Custom Home: 2 x pair stacked Schneider XW 5548+ Plus inverters (4), 2 x Schneider MPPT 80-600 Charge Controllers, 2 Xanbus AGS Generator Start and Air Extraction System Controllers, 64 Trojan L16 REB 6v 375 AH Flooded Cel Batteries w/Water Miser Caps, 44 x 185 Sharp Solar Panels, Cummins Onan RS20 KW Propane Water Cooled Genset, ICF Custom House Construction, all appliances, Central A/C, 2 x High Efficiency Variable Speed three ton Central A/C 220v compressors, 2 x Propane furnaces, 2 x Variable Speed Air Handlers, 2 x HD WiFi HVAC Zoned System Controllers
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

If you choose Grid Tie--you will also need to check with your local utility to make sure that Grid Tie is allowed and what type of billing plan you have (1 year net metering is usually the best).

You can also check if they offer Time of Use billing and see if the times work well with your solar power generation.