Electrical Engineering Questions

GMD83
GMD83 Registered Users Posts: 5
I work in sales and I'm not an engineer by trade. In order to talk with engineers at utilities, I need to understand the basics of how engineers think with regards to solar energy. The thing is, I don't understand the electrical side, therefore I don't know what questions to ask or how to ask them. I need help, in basic terms. Here is the best question I can come up with that sums up everything. I hope it makes sense:

Question: Given the phase, volts at the site, the main breaker amps (main service?), and transformer kVA, how would an engineer determine a solar array size in kW? Example:
  • 3ph - 480V - 600A main breaker: what would be the max system size that can be installed at this site? How did you arrive at that number?
  • If the site required more solar than your suggested size, what solutions would you try/consider so we could install a larger solar system?
    • Load side/ line side tap? How would this work? (I've heard engineers talk about these, but I don't know what they mean)
    • Replace the conductors? (Also, I don't know what this means)
    • Tie into the nearest 3ph line? How would this work? (Seriously, no clue what that means either)
    • Upgrade the transformer? What good would this do? (I'm out of breath)
    • Tie into the substation? How would this work? (My brain is about to explode)
Someone please help me!! Thank you for answering.

Comments

• westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    GMD83 wrote: »
    how engineers think with regards to solar energy

Short answer....They think about ELECTRICITY first and source second. They also think about the Watts and Kilo-Watts being used

480V times 600 A = 288Kw, and they apply a time factor, hours, so now you have Kwh or Kwatts used in an hour and it is cumulative...
    a simple start...

Is this 3 phase power for a water pump or??

KID #51B  4s 140W to 24V 900Ah C&D AGM