SLA Batteries in series. . voltage issues

Shooter Magaven
Shooter Magaven Registered Users Posts: 16
First, I have no doubt that this has been asked and answered a hundred times. But I cant find it anywhere. So here it is again.. sorry.

I am not that new to solar off-grid, but I am new to 48v series battery bank. I thought I was told that batteries in series must be identical in every respect or the whole bank will die a horrific death (not really but might as well). And that parrallel strings can be more forgiving with different batteries. Then i read just the opposite....aaaaah! Im so freaking confused.

So I just sent two 3 year old 100Ah 12v AGMs too the battery warehouse in the sky because they would not play nice with the two newer (same type/model/manufacturer) batteries I put in series with. The voltages during absorb were all over the place. Never had this issue when they were in parallel. So I though that the difference in age was the problem and exchanged them.
Now, the all new bank is doing the same. I knew I needed to charge them first, so I wired the 2 new in parallel on a 12v charger for a day and a half. Then afterwards, connected in series with the others, I still get voltages of 15.2 to 13.6 when absorb charging at 48v (58.6v) from battery to battery.

am I being anal? Or is this a problem that will sort Iitself out. Im real tired of nursing batteries all weekend not knowing if i'm messing them up or correcting them.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Series banks--They are strong as their weakest link. If you mix size of battery (200 AH and 100 AH cells) in series--The bank will only have 100 AH of useful storage.