New Forum Software Options...

BB.
BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
Good day Members,

Looking for feedback on forum software options... Here is what I have seen here so far in an earlier thread:

One suggestion: www.discourse.org/
In case I was too neutral before... this forum software (vBulletin?) is terrible, horrible, ugly, frustrating, and OUTDATED. I can't stand it. Discourse.org is FREE and AWESOME. Here is another:
==============================
I would recommend the free forum software "Discourse". It is great all around. The best part is you never need the refresh button. Many users can have a live discussion right on a page. The new posts are pushed out just like a messaging program. None of this post and then push refresh 50 times crap. It makes a very vibrant community.

Other software:
I like http://www.simplemachines.org/SMF. I have been an admin on a forum that has used SMF for 9 years now. SMF is free software. Therefore there is no paid for support, but they have a great forum for obtaining help. We have had very few issues with it, even when we changed from one version to a later version. It does require some learning by the admins or mods. I would be willing to "talk shop" with anyone who wants to. There are dozens if not hundreds of addons to customize the software. I do prefer to use very few mods though as updates to the base software do not always get along with all the mods. EDIT: SMF is the software Midnite runs. The forum I help run is at http://countryplans.com/smf/index.php
=======================
Another vote for SMF. One of my favorite features is that when you hit the "Post" button after writing a reply, if there has been another post while you were writing, it warns you and lets you read it before posting your reply. --vtMaps

And another