Simple question but I'm lost...

kicker22004
kicker22004 Registered Users Posts: 4
Hi I'm new to battery setups with solar but not solar in general. My issue is understanding how much battery I need. I'm a bit confused as to the AH and discharge state.. I have a simple set of yard fountains the I've been running off of a 45 watt 24v (OC) panel that I drop down to 8v with a buck converter, it works great and has for a year now. But I would like to have my fountain run at night also. So my question is this.... Let's say I bought a 100ah battery and only let it drop to 11.5v (say its 50%) does that mean I will only have the 50ah out of 100ah?

Some details.
45 watt
Custom charge controller pwm type (adjustable).
Amp draw for fountains is 1amp.
Northern California about 6 solid hours of sun at peek output.

Thanks for the help guys, I'm sure its simple.

Comments

• JoshK
    JoshK Solar Expert Posts: 232 ✭✭
    You will want to convert all your devices to the universal unit of watts, then the calculations will be more obvious. And yea, half a discharge is the same as half capacity.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum Kicker.

Amp*Volts = Watts (a rate, like gallons per hour)
    Amps * Volts * Hours = Watt*Hour (an amount, like gallons of gasoline used)

Amp*Hours is very common when working with DC systems. If you have a 12 volt battery system, then you can use Amps and Amp*Hours for everythihng.

However, with off grid solar power, working with Amp*Hours gets confusing. Amp*Hours is missing a major component, Voltage. To give you an idea, look at using a 120 Watt light bulb.
    • 120 Watts / 120 volts = 1 amp of current flow
    • 1 amp * 5 hours = 5 Amp*Hours at 120 VAC
    However, if you had a 120 Watt load on a 12 volt system:
    • 120 Watts / 12 volts = 10 amps of current flow
    • 10 amps * 5 hours = 50 Amp*Hours of current at 12 VDC