System Sizing Method

Hi All, I am new to solar electricity. I am trying to understand system sizing techniques, for stand alone solar system. Anyone can shed light on system sizing method which to look out for, I'd be very glad.

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: System Sizing Method

well, to start you must know what amounts of power you use. from that you should incorporate conservation efforts. if you have grid tie with or without battery backup you can have less than your needs as you'll just offset your consumption somewhat. in the case of no grid you will need to produce all of your needs and thensome for those losses of efficiency and store it in batteries of the proper size to accomodate your needs and for possibly up to 3 day backups. beyond the 3 days you would need to be sure of the pv's ability to charge the bank as you should have a 5% rate of charge or better and if greater than 13% rate of charge be sure from the battery manufacturer that their batteries can take a sustained higher charge rate.
    this is somewhat simplified, but a good rough guide.
  • crewzer
    crewzer Registered Users, Solar Expert Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭✭

Hi All, I am new to solar electricity. I am trying to understand system sizing techniques, for stand alone solar system. Anyone can shed light on system sizing method which to look out for, I'd be very glad.

Phoe Tar,

In addition to understanding your power requirements, you need to establish your average daily energy requirements (kWh/day). For example, if you check your last home electricity bill and find that you’re using, say, 270 kWh/month of electrical energy, then your average net daily requirement is ~9 kWh.

You then need to understand that typical off-grid system efficiency is ~60%. So, to meet a net energy requirement of 9 kWh/day, a system will need to generate ~15 kWh/day.