Do RV parks buy power?

Sorry if this has been covered. I did a search, but didn't come up with anything.

My home burned to the ground just before New Year's and I'm currently "boon docking" in my RV on the property.

I am going to take this odd period in my life to go explore the country for a bit (as opposed to rebuilding the house, or moving to another one).

I have never stayed at an RV park, but my understanding is such that on a monthly rate, it is rate+electricity.

Being as I'm setting up a solar system on my RV which has grid-tie capability, I am wondering if an RV park would reduce/refund your rates if you were selling your solar power back through their meter and ended up with a negative kwh number at billing time?

Many Thanks
Sean

Comments

• Audiomaker
    Audiomaker Solar Expert Posts: 100 ✭✭
    Re: Do RV parks buy power?

I'm new to this, but don't most grid-tie inverters have some sort of safety functionality not to backfeed?

You're probably right though since I don't think most RV inverter systems are grid-tie and the option probably doesn't get presented to the park owners often, if at all.
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Grid Tied AC inverters by definition back-feed the grid--Safely.

My guess--You are being billed/paying the local RV park.

Grid Tie power agreements are with the utility itself--And I would guess, would not included random RV's pulling in for the day/week/month.

Yes--The properly designed GT Inverter will detect the line voltage and line frequency, and if either of those are out of specifications, it will turn off (or never sync up, wait ~5 minutes, then turn on).

Would the RV park notice you have done this--Who knows. Older power meters would turn backwards and if you generate more power than you use, they park may get really confused.