solar newbie here

cornwalluk
cornwalluk Registered Users Posts: 4
Hi all, I'm new to living totally off grid and have recently bought an outback fm60, I've got a very tiny battery bank (if it can be called that) at 2*12v 100ah agms. And being how money situations are I found an advert for panels with their glass shattered some good some bad at a brilliant price obviously :)
I seem to be bringing in enough power off of my pv even though we're in our (modest) UK winter at the moment.
I'm slightly confused with absorption times and end amp settings though, could somebody help me please?
The panels are (were) 250w each and I have 4 plugged in , in series parallel and I have a 1500w sunsolar systems pure sine wave inverter (im only using a laptop at the moment so over powered but I'm working with what I have)
would it be ok to add another 2 12v batteries in to this mess? I'm running at 24v but thinking if I keep wire size and length the same for all of them it'll be ok and stay healthy?
Battery supplier has said that a float voltage of 13.6 and Max of 14.8. Would the max be the absorbing volatage?
sorry for all the questions and I don't know how relevant it is seeing as I'm UK based and you're not.
thanks
Simon

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: solar newbie here

Welcome to the forum Simon!
    cornwalluk wrote: »
    Hi all, I'm new to living totally off grid and have recently bought an outback fm60, I've got a very tiny battery bank (if it can be called that) at 2*12v 100ah agms. And being how money situations are I found an advert for panels with their glass shattered some good some bad at a brilliant price obviously :)

In general, shattered crystalline solar cell panels will start fail when you get some wet weather and some corrosion. Guessing within a few months of exposure to weather. Not worth trying to salvage--Possibly a bit of a fire hazard too (fractured/corroded cells/bonding could get hot under load).