Speculations on PG&E NEM 2.0?

Options
rtotoonchie
rtotoonchie Registered Users Posts: 3
In PG&E territory, we are going to be seeing the Net Metering agreement change when the NEM cap of 5% is reached. As far as I can tell, it's looking like that will be reached later in this calender year.

I called PG&E a few times this year and obviously the person has no idea what I am talking about or they are holding their cards close to their chest.

I wanted to open a thread about this and see if anyone knows any further information about what the new Net Metering agreement will look like or have any educated guesses.

Thanks.

-Rob

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    Re: Speculations on PG&E NEM 2.0?

I have no inside knowledge, and don't follow PG&E/Utility issues... But this is statment from 2013 where PG&E is setting their goal posts:

http://www.pgecurrents.com/2013/02/05/helen-burt-it%E2%80%99s-time-to-reevaluate-net-energy-metering-for-solar-power/
    [h=1]Helen Burt: It’s Time to Reevaluate Net Energy Metering for Solar Power[/h] By Helen Burt

For more than a decade, PGE& has supported our customers who choose to enjoy the cost savings and environmental benefits that solar programs have to offer. That support has not wavered.
    When customers install solar and use Net Energy Metering, they avoid paying their fair share of the electricity grid they use at night, says Helen Burt, PG&E's chief customer officer.

By the end of 2012, we had helped almost 80,000 customers install nearly 800 megawatts (MW) of new solar, about 30 percent of all the customer-installed solar in the United States — by far the most of any utility. In addition, seven of the 10 largest solar projects under construction in the world will provide electricity for PG&E customers. PG&E’s commitment to solar energy for our customers is unparalleled.