Heating my Chicken coop

RossD
RossD Registered Users Posts: 5
Hi,

I am a total noob to wind and solar and had some questions. I am looking to run 4 300watt radiant light bulbs. I am wondering what type of inverted would be needed what type of turbine/panels and how many batteries would I need. If this sounds ignorant I am sorry I have no idea about any of this and I am kinda jumping in here. Any advice or info would be much appreciated.

Comments

• RossD
    Re: Heating my Chicken coop

Here is something that I have found and thought about building as my turbine.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8MQaT9EbMDQ
  • gww1
    gww1 Solar Expert Posts: 963 ✭✭

Hi and welcome.
    I have chickens also, they take cold very well. I keep a water heater and a low wattage light for 3 or 4 hours a day to keep them laying. Look at my signature. I don't believe a system like mine would run what you want 24/7. I got over twenty thousand in my system. I am in MO so maby not as cold as where you are but we do get really cold spells and I have had no issues with my chickens.
    Good luck
    gww
  • gww1

You would be waisting your time with a turbine like that. You would need to be in a very good wind area first and then need a differrent turbine. If you want to build, Check out first; Pay attention to what they really produce not just the max you see at one time in a hurracain.

http://www.otherpower.com/

They also have a forum.

Just my opinion.
    Good luck
    gww
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    RossD wrote: »
    I am looking to run 4 300watt radiant light bulbs. I am wondering what type of inverted would be needed what type of turbine/panels and how many batteries would I need. If this sounds ignorant I am sorry I have no idea about any of this and I am kinda jumping in here. Any advice or info would be much appreciated.