First Battery Backup - Review Requested

erikm101
erikm101 Registered Users Posts: 6
Hello!

I am new to the solar/wind/battery thing and would like to solicit criticism on my first battery backup design. I am primarily interested in feedback on things that might cause a catastrophic failure (think fire or explosion). I realize that a 12V system is pooh-poohed around here (based on what I have read in these forums so far), and I also realize that I do not have the best of components. That said, these are the components that I have at the current time and this is what I must work with for now. Please do let me know if you see anything dangerous, or just plain wrong.

The purpose of this system is to provide backup power in the event of a grid outage in my home. Loads would primarily be limited to some LED area lighting, mobile device charging and periodic running of refrigerator and freezer to maintain proper temperatures. Though I would like to, I do not intend to run the well pump at this time, as it is 220VAC and I lack the proper inverter for this. This is something I am looking into getting addressed.

The battery charger would be kept on and connected to the batteries at all times from grid power. During an extended outage, I would use a Ryobi 2200W inverter generator to power the battery charger. Same generator would likely be used for running higher draw loads like fridge and freezer while batteries are charging as well. I will likely only have one of the two inverters shown in the attached diagram connected at any time, based on the loads I determine I need. Not shown in the diagram, but I will likely switch the positive leg of each of these separately.

Questions that I have are:
-- Do I have the fusing right (single fuse on 12V + from bank to bus bar) and what size fuse should this be (I am guessing 250-300A)?