Solar pump needed advice.

System
System Posts: 2,511 admin
Hi!
Well casing = 6"
Depth well = 104'
Pump will be at 80' deep
I need to pump water ( no pressure needed) in a open bassin just beside the well ( 15').
I want to pump approx 8 gpm.
I need the system approx 2 months a year ( july-august).
I need all the kit : pump, controler, solar panels, etc...
What you suggest?
Ready to buy.

Thanks for your help.

Wilma

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Solar pump needed advice.

wilma,
    firstly, know that i'm not a pump expert, but you need to indicate if the water is needed to pump only during sunny periods(where?) or 24/7. if 24/7 there is a problem with solar fitting the bill without being extremely costly.
    in general you will need a pump that can pump 8 gpm up at about 100ft of height. again, i'm no expert with pumps, but this seems to be a tall order for pumping(no pun intended) in looking over the specs for pomps from our host, northern arizona wind & sun. once a pump that meets the pumping requirements is known the rest will fall into place as it can be figured from that pump's power requirements. this will be somewhat costly compared to utility powered pumping as you can see the costs of the pvs at their store also.
    link to pvs: http://store.solar-electric.com/hiposopa.html
    link to pumps: http://store.solar-electric.com/sodcwapu.html
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

8gpm is 11,520 gallons per 24 hour day.

If 6 hours of solar per day (assuming direct solar panels, no batteries/etc.) that would be 2,880 gallons per day...

Normally with solar/wind/etc., you get a smaller pump and pump for a long time versus the standard AC Mains connected system needing a large pump running a few minutes at a time to support demand.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin

Hi!