Limited-use, daytime-only system

Hi, everyone. I'm new to solar energy and new to the board.

I'm considering installing solar powered attic fans in my NW Florida home, not only for savings but also for operability after hurricanes knock out power for several days. I'll need up to 4 fans. Comparable AC fans are rated 2.8 amps and would cost at least $10 per month to operate. I've looked at the solar kits sold by several dealers, but they come with a 20-watt panel which would leave the fans rather underpowered, at best, as I figure it.

I should need <3 amps per fan at 12 volts (about 34W each). As a daytime only system, could I purchase one PV panel with enough wattage to supply all the fans and hook them directly to it, omitting the need for batteries, etc? Would you approach the problem another way?

Thanks for your inputs. This is a great board.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Limited-use, daytime-only system

If you look around here, I think that this has been discussed before... I believe that one person even though that using old electric automotive radiator fans from a junk yard was a great way to, cheaply and reliably, move the air.

Yes, you can do this without batteries. You would have to check the ratings of fans vs the solar panels to make sure that you don't over voltage the fan motors (especially if they are electronically commutated--to avoid the whole issue of brush wear and replacement on DC motors).

Of course, if you have windy afternoons on hot days, you could put some regular wind-turbines on the roof. Or even just open (with screening) more entry and exit points for the air to move out on its own.