Need some guidance... please!

Options
kduval
kduval Registered Users Posts: 5
Hello,

First post here. I am generally pretty good at locating the things I need, but I am a bit overwhelmed with all the wind power products. I am a metal artist, and have been building (windmill) style sculptures for a few years. They have been purely decorative up til this point, but I feel that the cries for some sort of power generation from these sculptures must finally be silenced :) I am looking for a descent quality kit that can be modified to achieve this. I know that I have a long way to go, but I need to have quality components that can be modified, or machined to fit the aesthetics and movements of the sculptures, and remain safe, and functional. Hopefully I will be able to simply attach my "rotor" directly to the alternator shaft. I would also appreciate any info on how to disperse this power. Ideally I would like to charge some batteries for some LED lighting, and for charging of USB devices. Any guidance of any kind will be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Comments

• inetdog
    inetdog Solar Expert Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Need some guidance... please!

It is difficult enough to get useful power from a specifically designed air turbine blade at ground level, given the low wind velocity and turbulence.
    I doubt that you would be able to capture enough energy to be useful for charging any kind of battery.
    To give you an idea of what is involved, first how fast do your sculptures rotate?
    Second, how much resistance can you apply to the shaft and still have them turn?

If you want to capture useful energy from your rotors, I would suggest that you use a loop of continuous bucket chain to lift marbles that then roll down through a marble machine kinetic structure.
    SMA SB 3000, old BP panels.
  • kduval
    Options