Need help designing new system

Options
kaipo_boy
kaipo_boy Solar Expert Posts: 143 ✭✭
Complete newbie here, I've looked through some other similar topics and realized I've got a steep learning curve ahead of me here. Great forum guys, and my thanks ahead of time.

I live in Hawaii so solar makes emminent good sense here, the particular part of the Oahu that I live on is technically (measuring rainfall) a desert. We only have 1 power generation company here and they are hideously expensive, current rate as of 2014 is $0.37 per kw and I believe they are asking for another increase. Not being able to afford an entire PV array, I've decided to do a small, stand alone PV system that will supply only limited power to a specific portion of the home to be partially self sufficient. I plan on only 1 panel and a couple batteries and small inverter and charge controller for lights, fridge, computer, TV and vcr. Grid tie is out of the question as the local company requires 'approval' of course, and the line goes around the block several times; they aren't approving anything so have a stranglehold on PV installations.

The TV/vcr combo pull near 350w but would be on from near 5pm-10pm most nights. Not sure if 2 T-105s with a small 600w or 1000w inverter would handle that load. I plan on getting LED lights, currently I run 2 fluorescent tubes of 44w? each.

I just purchased (last week!) 2 small 2200w/1800w ryobi inverter generators as my first step, they are slightly noisier than the honda EU2000i but produce about the same power and cost about half as much. All reviews were favorable other than initial issues with QC. My experience with them is about a week old and so far good enough. I plan on building a sound isolation box though, in case I need to run one late at night to recharge batteries run down too much.