Battery Bank Dilemma

sub3marathonman
sub3marathonman Solar Expert Posts: 300 ✭✭✭
I have been greatly helped by those on this forum, now several years ago, but I'm hoping to hear some ideas about my current situation.

I have four 12V Rolls 357ah (20 hr rate) batteries in series for a 48 volt system, XW6048 inverter, and 4.7kw PV. I've been using them for just over 5 years, with acceptable performance. I've always felt they lacked the stated capacity even from the start, but never was able to determine if that was true. I'll discharge them in the weekday evenings to about 60% DOD to offset peak rates, and recharge them from grid power overnight. At some point I am hoping to take this system off-grid, if I can add another 9 - 10 kw PV array, but at this point that plan is questionable.

The problem now is that apparentlyl at least one cell of one battery has gone bad. Now, I'm not sure what is happening with the warranty, but I'll assume, at least for now, that Rolls will provide warranty support (5 years of a 10 year prorated warranty), which as I understand it would be 50% of the price of any bad cells at this point.

So, if it is one bad cell, and I end up paying a nominal amount for a new cell or two, or even half price for a new 12V 357ah battery, is it worth it? Or is it throwing good money after marginal cells and I'd be better off getting a new battery bank.