Beginner book recommendation please

johnelarue
johnelarue Solar Expert Posts: 33
Can someone please give me some titles preferably for kindle etc. for. Small scale solar DIY off grid systems design, with wind and hydro a plus. Not looking for grid tie, modest 500w or so, not a complete newbie, but still beginner to lower intermediate understanding. thanks much!

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Re: Beginner book recommendation please

PNJunction recommended this Samulex installation manual for a good overall view:

Product Manual

Kyocera has a nice solar pumping manual:

http://file.seekpart.com/keywordpdf/2011/5/20/2011520204318948.pdf

PDFs, so you could download to Kindle--PDF seems to be kind of iffy--depending on model of Kindle.

Home Power Magazine (subscription, plus a few online "free articles":

https://www.homepower.com/subscribe-and-save?template=subscribe

What is it you are specifically looking for?

-Bill

PS: This post has a lot of books (mostly dead tree);

http://forum.solar-electric.com/showthread.php?5556-Working-Thread-for-Solar-Beginner-Post-FAQ&p=54329#post54329
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • johnelarue
    BB. wrote: »

What is it you are specifically looking for?

-Bill

PS: This post has a lot of books (mostly dead tree);

http://forum.solar-electric.com/showthread.php?5556-Working-Thread-for-Solar-Beginner-Post-FAQ&p=54329#post54329

Excellent, excellent, thank you BB!

Specifically I'm looking for wiring diagrams for small systems, how to arrange a control panel components, 12v btw.

John
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin

Do you have a specific brand/model of controller? Or some specific functions you want to accomplish?

Without details, it is hard to help.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • Cariboocoot