laugh, but please help :) system for IL

I used the link below to calculate # of panels, etc.

http://telemetryhelp.com/solar_power_sizing.asp

i am truly confused. this system will power a 'hermit' cabin...a 12v fridge (30wts), along with a few lights and the small (.4 amp) fan for the composting toilet. the heat/on demand hot water are propane. i was looking at 300 amp hour batteries (the sealed gel, as these must be inside the cabin in a loft) I would also like to run my laptop with a direct 12v plug in for charging the battery.

was going to add an air-x wind turbine into the mix (400 watts/12v) as well.

i'm in northern illinois...and a complete newbie to all of this. the panels must be roof mounted. the air-x will go on the roof as well.

can someone give me some idea if the calculator above is correct? according to it, to have a 5-day backup and power only the fridge would take 6 of these batteries, and a ton of panels....I assumed I'm doing something wrong?

sigh...this cabin is completely off grid and i need to figure this out :-D

Comments

• System2
    System2 Posts: 6,290 admin
    Re: laugh, but please help :) system for IL

I got a good laugh using the calculator. It opined my requirements to 2.5kw pv panels (only about $30K installed) and 4450amp hours of battery capacity, 3 days with 7.5kwh per day. :-o I am living with a lot less than that. I'd suggest looking around at other calculators which are bound to show up recommended by some of the very knowledgable people on this forum.

Cruise some to the threads in the forums and you'll pick up a lot of usefull information from other folks. Enjoy! Don't forget some sort of generator as the sun don't always shine and the wind don't always blow, am I right?

ralph
  • System2

good to know i wasn't the only one taken aback by the calculations. :wink:

i've been perusing the posts, and i'm learning a lot. but i have many questions inregards to batteries, etc.