New to Solar - Need help figuring out what I really need

Musterpoint
Musterpoint Registered Users Posts: 6
Hi Folks,
Great forum, I'm completely new to solar and have a lot to learn, but need to set something up on my boat. There's a great deal of youtube videos showing lots of products and technical blurb but few show product combinations that work well with each other for my particular requirement. That's is what I'm missing.

A bit of background: I need a long range cruising system for a sailboat. It presently has no charging abilities other than engine alternator (12V/80Ah). I intend to add Solar and Wind so I can get by with minimal engine time.

There are 4 batteries on-board: 3 x 12v house batteries provide 330Ah and one 80Ah engine. It has a 110v/12v shore power inverter/charger which will rarely get used.

Assuming I went with 4 x 260w 30A solar panels, my questions are:

Which model charge controller should I get (I believe MPPT is best but make/model?)
Do I need more than one? (I'm having trouble finding 30A, 1040w MPPT)
Can I use the same controller for the wind generator?
Any suggestions or examples greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Comments

• AuricTech
    AuricTech Solar Expert Posts: 140 ✭✭
    Re: New to Solar - Need help figuring out what I really need

I'm new here myself, but seems like too much panel for that size house battery bank. From what I've read so far here on this forum, I would expect around 600 watts for a nominal 12-volt bank of that capacity. (ETA: For that size panel, you will want to use an MPPT controller, as the Vmp of a 260-watt panel ought to be around 32 volts. A MorningStar TriStar 60 controller ought to work for a 600-watt PV array, with some room for growth if needed.)

Of course, the first question is:

What loads do you need to run with this system?
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,433 admin